Windows 10 November update – What is Windows 10 version 1511, and when can I get it?

Windows 10 November update – What is Windows 10 version 1511, and when can I get it?

Starting in mid-November, an update for Windows 10 will become available that includes additional features and improvements. After the update is installed, your device will be running Windows 10 version 1511. Not everyone will be able to get this update through Windows Update at the same time as Microsoft rolls out this update in phases.

 

What is it?

This is a November update to Windows 10 and a cumulative update that includes much of the changes that were featured in the Insider Program. There is no name change and the version is only a reference to know if a user has the update installed or not.also known as the November update. This update is offered through WU as any other update, installed via the normal overnight process and ready in the morning for most users.

Windows 10 version 1511 (Windows 10 November update) is an operating system (OS) replacement and migration of app, files and personal settings. This update will launch setup, which will run in the background. Each user will experience the first logon animation (We’re getting things ready…) It is very similar experience to how Windows 10 was installed.

Note: If a user has upgraded to Windows 10 within 31 days, they will not be offered this November update in order to preserve their ability to uninstall. WU presents a link that will explain why the November update is not present.

 

How big is the Windows 10 November update?

Since this is an OS swap. The size of the update is approximately 3 GB. It is recommend user have 5 GB of free space. If you do not, you will receive a message that you can plug-in an additional USB-memory to continue the update.

 

Can I schedule when I receive the update?

Users receiving the automatic update will have the option to schedule the update out 5 days. However, you can no longer continue to reset the reschedule after the first time.

When the upgrade is scheduled, the user will receive an opt-out button when the 60minute countdown reminder is displayed.